The Fund for Santa Barbara

Social Justice Award


2014 Social Justice Award Trailer Fund for Santa Barbara from Cage Free on Vimeo.

The Fund for Santa Barbara is proud to once again partner with the Santa Barbara International Film Festival to present the 15th Annual  Social Justice Award for Documentary Film. This year's Festival ran from Thursday, January 30th through Sunday, February 9th.

The Social Justice Award for Documentary Film is awarded annually to a film that makes a particularly valuable contribution to advancing social justice. The award was created in 2000 to recognize the work of documentary filmmakers who use their art to address critical social, economic, environmental and political justice issues.

The 2014 award winner is Through A Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People. Congratulations to the film's Director, Thomas Allen Harris!

We at the Fund are grateful to all of the filmmakers who offer their time, talent, resources and vision in order to bring these issues to the big screen and who honor us by bringing their films to Santa Barbara.

Finally, we want to thank our partners in this effort: The Santa Barbara Independent, Sullivan Goss - An American Gallery, Arts & Letters Cafe, Casa Magazine, and KCSB.

Click here to read more about the nominees, including interviews with the filmmakers by the Santa Barbara Independent, in this year's Meet The Makers brochure...

For festival passes and/or tickets visit the SBIFF website.




Bottled Up: The Battle Over Dublin Dr Pepper
(World Premiere)
2014, USA, 94 min
Directed by Drew Rist

Screening times:
Saturday, 2/1 @ 4:00 PM (Metro 4)
Monday, 2/3 @ 1:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)


The Passage
(West Coast Premiere)
2013, Panama/USA, 61 min
Directed by Alexander Douglas

Screening times:
Friday, 1/31 @ 4:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Saturday, 2/1 @ 8:00 AM (Metro 4)


Hue: A Matter of Colour
(US Premiere)
2013, Canada, 85 min
Directed by Vic Sarin

Screening times:
Wednesday, 2/5 @ 10:00 AM (Metro 4)
Thursday, 2/6 @ 7:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)


Roaming Wild

(World Premiere)
2014, USA, 64 min
Directed by Sylvia Johnson

Screening times:
Friday, 1/31 @ 7:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Saturday, 2/1 @ 2:00 PM (Metro 4)


Invitation to Dance
(World Premiere)
2014, USA, 84 min
Directed by Christian von Tippelskirch & Simi Linton

Screening times:
Friday, 1/31 @ 1:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Sunday, 2/2 @ 7:00 PM (Lobero)


Shadow In Baghdad

(US Premiere)
2013, Israel, 70 min
Directed by Duki Dror

Screening times:
Thursday, 2/6 @ 4:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Friday, 2/7 @ 4:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)


The Last One

(World Premiere)
2014, USA, 80 min
Directed by Nadine Licostie

Screening times:
Saturday, 2/1 @ 10:00 AM (SB Museum of Art)
Sunday, 2/2 @ 4:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)


Through A Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People

(West Coast Premiere)
2014, USA, 90 min
Directed by Thomas Allen Harris

Screening times:
Wednesday, 2/5 @ 1:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Saturday, 2/8 @ 1:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)



Alfredo’s Fire
(World Premiere)
2014, 39 min
Directed by Andy Abrahams Wilson

Life on the Line

(World Premiere)
2014, 28 min
Directed by Sally Rubin

Not Anymore: A Story of Revolution

2013, 16 min
Directed by Matthew VanDyke

Screening times:
Sunday, 2/2 @ 1:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)
Monday, 2/3 @ 4:00 PM (SB Museum of Art)




Thank You To Our 2014 Social Justice Jury:

Roman Baratiak – Associate Director of UCSB Arts & Lectures
Andrew Davis - Film Director
Phyllis de Picciotto
– Film Consultant
Margaret Lazarus
– Filmmaker
Vicki Riskin – Writer / Producer
Dr. Janet Walker - Professor of Film & Media St
udies at UCSB
Dr. Charles Wolfe - Professor of Film & Media Studies at UCSB


Past Social Justice Award recipients include:

2000 – Good Kurds Bad Kurds / Directed by Kevin McKiernan
2001 – Botín de Guerra (Spoils of War) / Directed by David Blaustein
2002 – The Making of the Revolution / Directed by Katarina Rejger & Eric van den Broek
2003 – Sadaa E Zan (Voices of Women) / Directed by Renée Bergan
2004 – Home of the Brave / Directed by Paola di Florio
2005 – Homeland: Four Portraits of Native Action / Directed by Roberta Grossman
2006 – Sisters in Law / Directed by Kim Longinotto
2007 – The Ground Truth / Directed by Patricia Foulkrod AND Crude Impact / Dir by James Wood
2008 – Después de la Neblina (When Clouds Clear) / Directed by Anne Slick & Danielle Bernstein
2009 – Yes, Madam Sir / Directed by Megan Doneman
2010 – Enemies of the People / Directed by Rob Lemkin & Thet Sambath
2011 – When I Rise / Directed by Mat Hames & Nostalgia de la Luz / Directed by Patricio Guzmán
2012 – Dirty Energy / Directed by Bryan Hopkins
2013 – Revolution / Directed by Rob Stewart
2014 – Through A Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People